Feeling Validated

“You’re a fruit loop in a bowl full of cheerios.” 

This quote was printed on the orange slip of paper I expectantly pulled out of the fish bowl labeled Thursday’s Thoughts at my local YMCA.  I laughed out loud!  How did they know?  Who told them I was a little fruity or loopy or both?  (My husband calls me a nut so maybe I’m really a mixture of fruit loops and honey NUT cheerios!)  Every Thursday I look forward to grabbing my quote out of the fishbowl to see what inspirational words will validate me or infuse warm fuzzies into my day.  I love the ones that say something to the effect that I am brave or will embark on some great adventure soon.

Have you seen or perhaps participated in the latest Facebook quizzes called Your Quote and How would you describe me?  I’ve played along – clicking the link to see what they think my life quote is or what they think my positive attributes are.  If I don’t like my answer I just click again until I do!

All the craze over these Facebook quizzes has made me ask the question What causes people (myself included) to take the bait?  What’s the big lure?  It could just be that inquiring minds want to know!  Or maybe it goes deeper.  I know I often times have a need for something to anchor me.  A life quote could fit the bill for that.  I think I also need and even clamor for validation – I like to hear people  tell me things about me that they like – that I’m funny, passionate, helpful, or even a fruit loop in a bowl of cheerios!  The Facebook description quiz gives us warm fuzzies by announcing to the social media world that we are kind, generous, or a person who goes out of their way to help others.  

So what am I getting at with all this?  Simply this:  Why don’t we go straight to THE SOURCE to find out what our life beliefs/convictions (life quote) should be and to discover who we truly are?  Everyday we can crack open God’s Word, the Bible, to unearth treasures of wisdom and understanding. In Psalm 119 the author gives us 176 reasons why he goes straight to the source of God’s Word to gain sure footage in life.  In verse 18 he says, “Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things from your Word.”  In verse 20 he goes on to say, “My soul is starved and hungry, ravenous – Insatiable for your nourishing words to me.”   Oh how our souls crave truth.  I can literally turn to any page in scripture and read truth from God that will anchor and affirm me.  Just yesterday I found myself resting in God as my refuge as I read Psalm 91:1,2: “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord, ‘He is my refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust.”  What better life quote than that?

What have you read lately in God’s Word that anchors and affirms you?  Leave your comments below, because inquiring minds want to know!

 

Leave a Reply

