Why Do I Run?

Over the hills and through the woods…running to reach the next point where I could cheer on my son in his cross country race.  After he ran by, I’d take off and run for the next place to cheer for him.  Sometimes I barely made it there in time.  Sometimes I had to cheer from afar because I couldn’t quite make it across the field.  I was out of breath, my legs heavy, and sweat pouring down my face.  But I kept going – all out of deep love for my son.  So if you see that crazy mom running across the cross country course – that’s me – or some other dedicated cross country moms cheering on their offspring.

Lately, this is how I feel in life.  I’m straining up some parenting hills, blazing trails in the woods of women’s ministry, and high stepping through knee deep grassy fields of website technology – struggling to get to that next place but many times lagging behind.  But I keep going.  Recently, I’ve had to slow down to check the course map to see if I’m going the right direction and to figure out why I am running this race of faith.  I know why I chase my son around the fields and hills of cross country courses.  Because I want to get to him and cheer him on to victory.  This why keeps me running hard even when everything in my body is screaming STOP!

The Bible is my race of faith course map.  The last few weeks I have been studying First Corinthians 9:24,25: “In a race, all the runners run, but only one gets the prize.  Run in such a way as to win the prize.  Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training.  They do it to get a crown that does not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.”  In these verses I am reminded to know my why. Why am I running this race of faith, of following Christ and setting the pace for others to run their races victoriously?  The answer to this question lies in the key words last forever.  Because what I am doing (living by faith in Christ and reaching/teaching others) will last forever.  I can make an eternal impact in the lives of others.  So I keep going.  Persevering.  Taking the next step.  Straining up that next hill.  What I do matters.  Paul coaches us to “be steadfast, immovable;  Give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” (First Corinthians 15:58)  So when I trip and stumble on the trail in the woods, I get back up and keep running – because I know my why. 

My prayer for you today is that you will check the course map of God’s Word often and persevere in your race of faith.  My website runtowintady.wordpress.com is a resource for you as you follow Christ.  It’s a work in progress as I continue to add to each section.  Prayerfully it will be helpful to many.  Please share my website and blog with others to multiply the impact we together can make.  Let me know how you are doing in your race of faith in the comments below.  I’d love to pray for you and be able to cheer you on at this point in your race!

2 thoughts on “Why Do I Run?

  1. Thanks Darlene! This post was very helpful to me. I need to determine my focus and how what I am doing aligns with God’s will and glory. I am so glad you started this blog.
    By the way, the site looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad that my post was helpful. I always pray that God will use my posts and website in a timely way in people’s lives. I’ll be praying for you as you wait on God and His purposes for you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

